[Nameplate] Fair ~ 70°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Circle selected for Arkansas Amateur Cup team

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Nathan Circle of Hardy was selected to play on the 2010 Arkansas Amateur Cup Team. The Arkansas State Golf Association sponsors the cup team -- this year named the "Randy Beaver Cup" at the Hot Springs Country Club each October.

This is Circle's fourth year to play on the cup team.

Each and every year, hundreds of golfers living in the Natural State, set out with the goal of making the ASGA's Cup Team in hope of playing in the annual season ending competition.

The Arkansas Amateur Cup consists of the top 10 amateurs on the ASGA Amateur Player of the Year point standings and two captains picks: and the top two seniors on the ASGA Senior Player of the Year standings and two senior captains picks.

These 16 golfers compete against the 12 PGA Professionals and four senior PGA professionals representing the Arkansas PGA Chapter.

The format is similar to the Ryder Cup with four-ball foursome and individual matches. This year's amateur team consists of: Trey Scaap of North Little Rock, Justin Burns of Wiseman, Neal Westbrook of Russellville, Chris Jenkins of Little Rock, Luke Carpenter of Little Rock, Brian Allbright of Hot Springs, Mike Satterwhite of Little Rock, Efren Gonzalez of Bryant, Wes McNulty of Pine Bluff, Brooks Coatney of Alma, Todd Martin of Little Rock, Nathan Circle of Hardy, Ken Golden of Clarksville, Oscar Taylor of Hot Springs Village, Roger Clement of Little Rock and Bruce Dickey of Paragould.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: