[Nameplate] Rain Fog/Mist ~ 60°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 62°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Election 2010 ... Voting brings run-offs

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Election Board member Johnny Moody takes a look as County Clerk Vicki Bishop and Deputy Clerk Michele Tomlinson re-check election night totals.
Two races in Izard County and three in Sharp County were not settled by the Nov. 2 election. That means run-off elections will be held later this month.

In Izard County, run-off elections are scheduled to choose the Mayor of Horseshoe Bend and the District 5 Izard County Justice of the Peace, because no candidate received at least 50 percent of the vote.

At Horseshoe Bend, four candidates ran for Mayor. Incumbent Bob Barnes was challenged by Michelle Muncie, Alderman Steve Boyer, and James Davis.

Barnes, who received 40 percent of the vote, will face a Nov. 23 run-off election with Muncie, who garnered 32 percent of the vote.

In the District 5 Justice of the Peace race, incumbent Neil Olan placed third in the balloting. Two challengers, Democrat John David Miller, who received 45 percent of the vote, will face off in a run-off with Republican Michelle Gray, who received 33 percent of the Nov. 2 vote.

Sharp County run-off elections will include the District 7 Justice of the Peace seat where Bart Schultz will take on Dave Dougherty.

In Hardy, incumbent Amy Hussung will face Melanie Dietsche in a new vote for the Ward 1, Position 1 Aldermanic seat.

In Cherokee Village, incumbent City Councilman Tom Thone will face Pamela Rowland for the Ward 1, Position Two Council seat.

Early voting for the run-off elections will begin on Tuesday, Nov. 16, at county courthouses with Tuesday, Nov. 23, set as the statewide date for run-off elections to be held.

In races decided by the Nov. 2 vote, Democrat U. S. Senator Blanche Lincoln lost her seat on election night, garnering only 37 percent of the vote versus 58 percent for Republican Congressman John Boozman who will be Arkansas' new Senator.

For the hotly contested State Representative District 82 seat, Democrat Robert Hutchison lost out to Republican and Salem resident Lori Benedict, with Benedict garnering 55 percent of the vote to 45 percent for Hutchison.

In the State Senate District 10 race, current State Representative Curren Everett, Democrat, bowed in defeat to Republican Missy Thomas Irvin with only 2,353 votes versus 3,591 votes for Irvin.

Moving on to the local races, several cities were electing mayors. In Mammoth Spring, incumbent Independent candidate Jean Pace soundly defeated Independent Sonny Brown, with a total of 210 votes to Brown's 85 votes. In the city of Hardy, incumbent Independent candidate Nina A. Thornton won a very close race with challenger, Independent candidate and local business owner, Greg Bess. Thornton won out with 179 votes to Bess' 123. In Ash Flat, incumbent Independent candidate Danny Traw won handily against two other Independent candidates for the post, garnering 196 votes with Kelly Newcom receiving 99 and Jason Hale getting 27. In Melbourne, Shannon Womack beat out challenger Eddie Cooper with 347 votes to Cooper's 330. Two mayors ran unopposed in the election, Gary Clayton, Mayor of Salem and Lowell "Jackie" Estes, Mayor of Viola.

Melbourne voters also voted on a new one percent local sales and use tax to upgrade the roads in the county. They voted a resounding "No" to the measure, with 67 percent of votes against the tax.

Two Fulton County Justices of the Peace faced opponents on Nov. 2, and Incumbent JP District 3 Democratic candidate Jim Bicker beat Independent challenger Gene McBride with 301 votes compared to McBride's 134. Over in JP District 4, incumbent Democrat candidate Michael Barnett defeated Republican candidate Hugh D. Browning with 213 votes compared to Browning's 128.

The following Justices of the Peace ran unopposed in this election: JP Dist. 1, Cris Newberry; JP Dist. 2, Lynn Guffey; JP Dist. 5, Michael Roork; JP Dist. 6, Marjorie Rogers; JP Dist. 7, David Cunningham; JP Dist. 8, Jack Haney; and JP Dist. 9, Jimmy Marler.

Voters also cast their ballots in two hotly contested Sheriff's races in the area. In Izard County, Democrat Sheriff Tate Lawrence managed to hold onto office against two Independent challengers getting 2,912 votes to Eddie Edmondston's 639 votes and Walter R. Hagan's 933 votes.

In Sharp County, Democrat Mark Counts won against Independent James T. "Jim" Estes with 4,232 votes to Estes' 1,711.

Cherokee Village voted on a Recorder/Treasurer position, with incumbent Independent candidate Phyllis J. Endrihs losing against Independent challenger Lana Hamilton, 712 votes to 605.

In Hardy, voters determined several Alderman positions. For the Alderman Ward 1 Position 2 seat, they chose Independent candidate David Lee Clayton with 179 votes over challenger Margaret Harness, who received 110 votes.

For the Alderman Ward 2 Position 2 seat, the choice was Sherri L. Groves with 202 votes versus Louie Seibert with 93 votes.

One State Supreme Court Associate Justice, Position 6, was decided on, with Court of Appeals Judge Karen Baker taking the win with 60 percent of the vote over Judge Tim Fox who received 40 percent.

Democratic Governor Mike Beebe survived the competition from two challengers, defeating Republican Jim Keet and Green Party candidate Jim Lendall.

In the Lieutenant Governor's race, Democratic Senator Shane Broadway was defeated by Republican Mark Darr.

For Attorney General, Incumbent Democrat Dustin McDaniel won big over Green Party candidate Rebekah Kennedy.

For Secretary of State, Democratic candidate Pat O'Brien lost to Republican Representative Mark Martin in a tight race.

In the race for State Treasurer, incumbent Democrat Martha Shoffner faced Green Party candidate Bobby Tullis and won.

For Auditor of State, Democrat Charlie Daniels defeated Green Party candidate Mary Hughes-Willis.

For Commissioner of State Lands, Democrat L.J. Bryant lost out to Republican John M. Thurston.

Along with voting for their candidates on Nov. 2, Fulton County voters also helped to decide the fate of three proposed Constitutional Amendments.

Proposed Constitutional Amendment 1, which would amend the Arkansas Constitution to provide for a constitutional right to hunt, fish, trap and harvest wildlife, was a resounding winner, receiving 83 percent of Yes votes. The measure will become effective 30 days after the election.

Proposed Constitutional Amendment 2, which removes interest rate caps on government issued bonds, removes interest rate limits on FDIC insured institutions, and allows for government issued energy efficiency bonds passed with 64 percent of the vote and becomes effective on January 1, 2011. The amendment is supposed to make the state more competitive as it seeks new business and industry.

Proposed Constitutional Amendment 3, which would authorize the General Assembly to establish criteria before approving the issuance of bonds for prospective employers planning an economic development project, also passed, receiving 62 percent of Yes votes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: