[Nameplate] Fog ~ 55°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 52°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Hoop Shoot winners announced

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

The Highland Elks Lodge's 39th annual Elks Hoop Shoot contest was held Jan. 8, at the A.L. Hutson Memorial Center.

There were seven school districts and 1,116 participants, ages 8 through 13, in our area competing for this event.

The school competitions, chose the 36 winners that participated in the Lodge competition.

Over 3 million children throughout the United States entered last year's competition for both boys and girls in each age category 8-9, 10-11, and 12-13. These winners will be competing in the State of Arkansas Elks competition in Hot Springs, Ark., on Feb. 5, 2011. Names of the national winners will be inscribed on the Elks Hoop Shoot plaque on permanent display in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

First place winners: Girls 8-9-year-old -- Sonni Martin of Salem, Boys 8-9-year-old -- Matthew Workman of Izard County, Girls 10-11-year-old -- Samantha King of Izard County, Boys 10-11-year-old -- Dallas Farmer of Izard County, Girls 12-13-year-old -- Ashton Ford of Melbourne, Boys 12-13-year-old -- Dyllan Nunnally of Hillcrest.

Second place winners: Girls 8-9-year-old -- Emily Engles of Mt. Pleasant, Boys 8-9-year-old -- Colton Rose of Hillcrest, Girls 10-11-year-old -- Macy Moody of Mt. Pleasant, Boys 10-11-year-old -- Dalton Roark of Salem, Girls 12-13-year-old -- Kelsey Fry of Calico Rock, Boys 12-13-year-old -- Brian Parnell of Calico Rock.

Third place winners: Girls 8-9-year-old -- Mackayla Smith of Hillcrest, Boys 8-9-year-old -- Cole Whitaker of Calico Rock, Girls 10-11-year-old -- Abby Humphries of Calico Rock, Boys 10-11-year-old -- Aaron Whitmire of Hillcrest, Girls 12-13-year-old -- Hannah Ward of Salem, Boys 12-13-year-old -- Raymond Hunter of Izard County.Hoop Shoot winners announced

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: