[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Tourney for Mammoth Spring building fund a success

Friday, July 15, 2011

CHAMPIONSHIP FLIGHT WINNERS: From left are: Kermit Blevins, Russ Price and Rusty Campbell.
(not pictured: Reggie Gleghorn)
The Ozarka College Foundation Board hosted its first annual golf tournament at the Cherokee Village South Golf Course on June 11.

Proceeds from the four-person scramble benefit the Mammoth Spring building fund.

Event sponsors for the tournament were: First National Banking Company, Gladin-Eder Insurance Agency, Mammoth Spring Medical Clinic, North Arkansas Electric Cooperative, United Country Realty of Thayer, Two River Tee and Simmons Bank.

Liberty Bank provided lunch after the tournament and many other local sponsors contributed as team and hole prize sponsors.

Ozarka College Director of Advancement, Suellen Davidson, was pleased with the results of the tournament and attributes the hard work and efforts of the Mammoth Spring Foundation Board members, along with administrative coordinator at the Mammoth Spring site, Anthem Eder, for its success.

"Much hard work went into making the first Mammoth Spring Tournament successful and we are grateful for such a wonderful show of support by the local businesses and individuals who played or donated time and money," Davidson said.

"Ozarka College is privileged to have the opportunity to host this fundraising event at the South Golf Course and appreciate David Webb and his staff for running a successful tournament."

The Championship Flight winners were: 1st -- Russ Price, Kermit Blevins, Rusty Campbell and Reggie Gleghorn; 2nd -- Kevin Steed, Butch Steed, Zach Steed and Bobie Jo Cooper; 3rd -- Russ Stokes, Jeanette Graham, Aaron Circle and Pat Kimball.

First Flight winners were: 1st -- John Shaver, Ed Schultz, Rick Fowler and Carol Manry; 2nd- Birdie Rogers, Kenny Agnew, Erman Croney and Rays Edwards; 3rd -- Jan Haney, Leslie Bragg-Gitz, Charleen Parten and Paula Curtis.

Second Flight winners were: 1st -- Mike Robertson, Chris Simmons, David Russback and Carl Tune; 2nd- Bill Perkins, Bob Mennen, Larry Kissee and Don Henry; 3rd -- Matt Roberts, Eric Roberts, Mitchio Sanders and Dustin Denton.

Players had an opportunity to participate in a putt-off contest for a Scotty Cameron putter, donated by Two River Tee Company.

Steve Powell won that contest and Jeanette Graham was runner-up. Other individual hole contest winners included: Billy Allen, Bobie Jo Cooper, Chris Dawe, Russ Price, Penny Reynolds, Pete Reynolds, Carl Tune, and Kevin Young.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: