[Nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 64°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

No contested school board seats in Fulton County

Friday, July 29, 2011

The election is not until September, but three Fulton County school board members are shoo-ins to keep their seats.

No one filed to oppose Salem school board member Wanda Keolling, Viola board member Boyd Dailey or Mammoth Spring board member Donell Russell, whose current terms are all ending.

This year's Arkansas school elections will be on September 20 and, in many districts, there are contested races.

Since there are no contested school board seats in Fulton County, polls will not be open on election day. But the county clerk's office will offer early voting at the courthouse, from September 13 through September 19.

That is because of the required formality of putting each school district's millage, the tax rate it will collect for the next school year, on the ballot.

Under the law, school districts must inform residents of their millage rate and give them the opportunity to approve it or vote against it.

This year, no Fulton County school district is changing its millage rate, so early voting will likely be sparse.

Last year in the county, three incumbents did not have opponents and, in Salem, Guy Smith defeated Gary Phillips for the District 5 School Board Seat.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: