[Nameplate] Fair ~ 57°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 64°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Elk's hosts State Workshop

Monday, November 7, 2011

The Highland Elk's Lode 2539 hosted the Arkansas State Elk's Association Fall Workshop Oct. 7-9 at the Lodge in Cherokee Village.

During the workshop, such things as recruitment and retention were discussed, by Arkansas State President John Chelstrom.

Elk members enjoyed a round of golf followed by a barbecue pork dinner and entertainment at the Lodge Oct. 7. The meals were prepared by Jessie Sparks.

Oct. 8 was a full day for the Elks as they hosted a trustee meeting, workshop, spousal brunch and a lunch at the South Golf Course for the past presidents. The group was then treated to a tour of Lake Thunderbird. The semi formal banquet was hosted Oct. 8, followed by a dance.

The meeting ended Oct. 9 following breakfast at the lodge and a business meeting.

Dignitaries attending the workshop included: from the Grand Lodge, Veteran's Leather Program Director Dennis McAleese and wife Kathy; West District Leader, Ira Sharp, Deputy District Grand Exalted Ruler Harald Stewart and wife Audrey; East District Leader Roy Worley, who also serves as the state secretary and was a past Grand Lecturing Knight, East District Deputy District Grand Exalted Ruler, Brent Watts. State Officers in attendance included President John Chelstrom and wife Shirley, First vice president Jan Dorn; Second Vice President Jim Edgar and wife Nancy; Secretary Roy Worley and wife Joyce; Chaplain Bill Bliss; Sergeant at Arms David Anderson and wife Debbie, Inner Guard Victoria Trujillo; Tiler, Brent Flanagan and wife Juna.

Those in attendance were given welcome bag items.

A silent auction was also held during the workshop. The Elk's Lodge wishes to thank all local businesses and individuals who donated items.

The successful workshop would not have been possible without the generous contributions of both time and labor by Elk's members who participated in the event.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: