[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 51°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Highland athletes honored at banquet

Thursday, May 17, 2012

From left are: Mike Rogers Sportsmanship/Citizenship Award winner H. D. Bobo, along with A. L. Hutson Scholar Athletes Sydney Shackelford and Garrett Sublett. Photo/Sparks [Order this photo]
Sydney Shackelford, Garrett Sublett and H.D. Bobo took home the top awards from the Highland High School athletic banquet on May 7.

Shackelford and Sublett won the A.L. Hutson Scholar-Athletes awards, while Bobo was presented the Mike Rogers Sportsmanship/Citizenship award.

Shackelford also won the senior girls' track and senior girls' basketball top awards, while Bobo won the senior boys' basketball award.

Former Highland Rebel and former Arkansas Razorback football letterman Richard Yager spoke about his experiences walking on to the football team at Fayetteville and encouraged the student athletes to have fun, take care of the small things, which are really the big things, and have a passion for their sport, at the recent HHS athletic banquet. Photo/Sparks [Order this photo]
Other awards passed out went to Madi Harris, who won the Kerry Kelly award for girls' golf; Charlie Fuller, who won the Tommy Bolt award for boys' golf; Jason Long, baseball; Lindsey Goodwin, softball; Tabby McNulty, Bob Kline award for girls' tennis; Garrett Johnson, boys' tennis; Dillion Miller, senior boys' track; Codie LaCount, Rebel football; Taylor Clem, Crystal Wiles/Cynthia Whitter senior cheerleading award; Slade Williams, Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program highest percentage; Avery Johnson, junior boys' basketball and Adam French award for junior high football; Shelby Hopkins, junior girls' track and junior high cheerleading; Deon Stewart, junior boys' track; and Emma Johnson, junior girls' basketball T.E.A.M. award.

In addition, 41 Highland seniors were awarded participation awards.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: