[Nameplate] Fog ~ 55°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 52°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Arkansas and Missouri counties named disasters due to drought

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Governor Mike Beebe has asked that Fulton, Izard and Baxter Counties receive federal disaster designations because extreme drought is affecting livestock and crops. With pastures burnt up by the heat wave and a hay shortage driving up prices, many area cattle operations are already selling off stock. A disaster designation would allow the Farm Service Agency to offer low interest loans to help farmers and ranchers. The local counties are among 13 included in the state's initial disaster request. On July 10, the Governor asked that the disaster designation be expaned to include all 75 Arkansas counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: