[Nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Razorbacks with 10 on pre-season All SEC Team

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

The University of Arkansas football team has 10 student-athletes voted to the 2012 SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team.

The Razorbacks had four representatives on the first team, three on the second team and three on the third team. The 10 selections rank as the third-highest total in the conference, trailing only the 11 members of the teams from Alabama and LSU.

Quarterback Tyler Wilson, running back Knile Davis and wide receiver Cobi Hamilton were named to the first-team offense, and were joined on the first-team by running back/kick returner Dennis Johnson in the all-purpose slot. Tight end Chris Gragg, offensive guard Alvin Bailey and linebacker Alonzo Highsmith are on the second-team, with center Travis Swanson, punter Dylan Breeding and kicker Zach Hocker earning third-team nods.

Wilson is the only Razorback in school history to be named first-team All-SEC quarterback, an honor he earned in 2011 after leading Arkansas to a school-record-tying 11 wins in his first season as a starter. The senior from Greenwood, Ark., holds nine school records, including career completion percentage, and has produced three of the top-five single-game completions marks in school history. He also ranks in the top 10 in school history in career touchdown passes, career pass completions and career pass attempts. He finished the 2011 season 277-of-438 passing for 3,638 yards, leading the SEC with an average of 279.8 per game, and 24 touchdowns with six interceptions, becoming just the second Razorback to pass for 3,000 yards in a season and leading the SEC with the eighth-highest single-season passing yards total in conference history. He also led the SEC in total offense per game, completions and pass efficiency rating. Wilson's attempt-to-interceptions ratio of 1:73 was the third-best in SEC history with a minimum of 300 attempts and the fourth-best in conference history with a minimum of 200 attempts. Earlier this week, he was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List.

Davis was a first-team All-SEC selection by the Associated Press in 2010, when he led all SEC running backs with 1,322 yards on the ground, the fourth-highest single-season total in school history. The junior from Missouri City, Texas, was named to numerous preseason All-America and All-SEC teams as well as watch lists for the Doak Walker, Maxwell and Walter Camp awards in 2011 before suffering an injury during a preseason scrimmage that forced him to miss the entire season. In 2010, his average of 101.7 rushing yards per game ranked second in the SEC and 16th in the NCAA. His 6.48 yards per rushing attempt was the highest in the NCAA among running backs that carried the ball at least 200 times and ranked as the fifth-highest single-season average at Arkansas. He ended the season with five consecutive 100-yard rushing games, and his 157.8 rushing yards per game in November made him the only SEC player to average 100 yards per game on the ground in the season's final full month. Earlier this week, he was again named to the Maxwell Award Watch List.

Hamilton made a career-high 34 receptions in 2011 for 542 yards and four touchdowns. The senior from Texarkana, Texas, ranked fifth in the SEC last season with an average of 15.9 yards per catch, and his career average of 17.9 yards per reception is the highest among current Razorbacks. He enters the 2012 season with a streak of at least one reception in 22 straight games and is ninth on Arkansas' all-time career 100-yard receiving games list with four. Hamilton also is tied for 11th all-time in school history with 13 receiving touchdowns in his career and is 15th on UA's all-time career receiving yards list with 1,519. In 2011, he totaled a season-high 132 receiving yards on a season-high five catches with one touchdown in the 52-3 win vs. New Mexico and the next week tied his season high with five receptions for 82 yards in a 38-28 win vs. Troy. He was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List earlier this week.

The SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team is announced each year in advance of SEC Football Media Days. This year, the event was held July 17-19 with Arkansas appearing on July 18 from 10:50 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: