[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

86 area children attend Kids College event at MSU-WP

Friday, August 17, 2012

86 area fourth through eighth graders participated in the annual Kids' College program July 9-12 at Missouri State University-West Plains. The program gives area youngsters a taste of college life by allowing them to "register" for classes and earn "credits" for graduation.

Brenda Malkowski, director of the University/Community Programs (U/CP) Department, which sponsors the event, noted 27 students who attended were from outside the West Plains area, "some from as far away as St. Louis and Viola, Ark. As always, all of the students were eager to learn. It's a joy for us to provide such an opportunity."

Malkowski also thanked the students, instructors and volunteers who helped make this year's event "a huge success." Those who would like to attend next year's event are encouraged to call the U/CP office at 418-255-7966 to be placed on the 2013 Kids' College mailing list. Attending this year's Kids' College program were, in no particular order, Ethan Granger, Alton; Miya Carroll, Madison Donnalley and Gavin Sanders, all of Cabool; Cameron Clarke, Cora Beth Newton and Sydney Tucker, all of Caulfield; Waylon Masters, Dora; Marisa Hunsperger, Koshkonong; Grace Cochran, Lauren Mitchell and Emily Wood, all of Mammoth Spring, Ark.; Lily Clifford, Mountain Grove; Rachel Wade, Mtn. View; Nate Bramwell, Pomona; Tanner Robinson, Poplar Bluff; Bryde McClure, St. Louis; Lanie Kirkman, Summersville; Braden Campbell, Matthew Denton, Colton Komm and Jordyn Smith, Thayer; Seth Cherry, Viola, Ark.; Skye Ahrenkiel, Masynn Baldwin, Abbie Brown, Taylor Cecil, Shelby Cole, Noel Collins, Sarah Jean Darschewski, Lauren Davis, Kent Deweese, Emilee Dougherty, Rebecca DuMontelle, Clara DuMontelle, Hanna DuMontelle, Jade Edgington, Creed Finley, Owen Fisher, Madison Fleetwood, Kayla Foht, Bailey Gilbreath, Neely Gobel, Shandon Gross, Blake Haag, Emma Hampsten, Madison Harelson, Seth Hartter, Haylee Helm, Kendra Helm, Zane Johnson, Zerek Johnson, Makayla Karr, Avery Kenslow, Kaul Kinder, Zachory King, Wesley Laughary, Jolee Laughary, Nicholas Long, Colton Lucas-Hanson, Christian Martin, Chaney Martin, Katelynn Martin, Koby Martz, Kassidy Moore, Kaylynn Newberry, Chyenne Pickett, Luke Roberts, Kanan Robison, Cheyenne Robison, Landon Rothgeb, Heidi Schneider, Jaiden Scism, Lara Kathryn Smith, Julia Staab, Jessie Stock, Megan Wallace, Matthew Watkins, Nicole Whitsell, Jackson Wright, Jay Wright and Mikayla Wright, all of West Plains; and Gabe Ivins, Audrey Nix, Emily Nix and Kaitlyn Wittenauer, all of Willow Springs. (Missouri State-West Plains Photo)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: