[Nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Fulton County Election Results

Tuesday, November 6, 2012 ~ Updated 10:59 PM

The 2012 General Election, with a decision on President and House of Representative seats on the ballot, sparked a strong voter response. In Fulton County, 4,418 total votes were cast out of 6,522 registered voters -- a 67.74 percent turnout.

Fulton County results show Republican Mitt Romney taking 2,949 votes to President Obama's 1,452 votes, although Obama was declared the national winner about 10:30 p.m.

First District Congressman Rick Crawford registered 2,541 votes to Democrat Scott Ellington's 1,680 votes, and Crawford appeared on his way to an easy victory district-wide.

On the state level, Fulton County resident Lori Benedict carried her home county by 420 votes as she sought re-election to the District 61 House seat, beating Democrat Scott Baltz 2,431 to 2,011. District-wide, however, totals showed Baltz leading by about 300 votes.

State Senator Missy Thomas Irvin beat two competitors in Fulton County as she sought re-election, collecting 1,446 votes compared to 855 votes for Democrat William "Zac" White, and 218 votes for Independent Paul White. District-wide, Irvin appeared to win the election by a wide margin.

In the battle for the State Senate District 19 seat, Republican Linda Collins-Smith won over incumbent Democrat David Wyatt in Fulton County, 1,154 votes to 750 votes. District-wide, Wyatt held a small lead in his race to be re-elected.

In Fulton County government, there will be some new faces in 2013, as a new treasurer was elected, because Treasurer Donna Hall did not seek re-election, and three new members will take seats on Quorum Court.

In the treasurers race, Democrat Seth Jones was elected, beating Republican Kristina Henkels 2,577 to 1,871.

In Justice of the Peace races, Democrat Cris Newberry, Independent Lynn Guffey and Republican Marge Rogers were re-elected. Incumbent Democrat David Cunningham lost his seat to Independent Mark Guffey by 108 votes. Democrat Burton Yarnell defeated Robert Windsor for the District 3 seat, and Democrat Johnnie Moody was elected in the May Primary, since he did not have a Republican opponent.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: