NAECís 78th Annual Meeting in the books

Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Grammy award winning country band Diamond Rio performed at NAECís 78th Annual Meeting held Thursday, June 7 at the Salem Civic Center. See a full picture page of the event on page 13.
Kim Break

North Arkansas Electric Cooperative held their 78th Annual Meeting on Thursday, June 7. Festivities began at 2 p.m. with registration and bingo, and lasted until after 9 p.m. Bingo, fun for the kids, live entertainment, including Grammy award winning Diamond Rio and local group Billy Joe French and Friends, and food were all enjoyed late afternoon into the evening, when the business meeting began at 7 p.m.

Members received an umbrella from NAEC and were eligible to win a retired Chevrolet Silverado service truck. Member George Herron, of Mountain Home, won the truck.

Mel Coleman spoke briefly before introducing the three main guest speakers of the night: Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge, Lt. Governor Tim Griffin and Governor Asa Hutchinson.

Following the speakers, NAEC gave out service awards for 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, 40 and 45 years of employment with NAEC. Also recognized were those who retired in the last year and Billy Smart and Joey Burk for their mission work in Guatemala. Coleman paused to say their thoughts and prayers are with those in Guatemala after the eruption of a volcano recently.

Operation Roundup Scholarship recipients were announced. Receiving $1,000 scholarships to attend Arkansas State University-Mountain Home are: Matty Dillard, Norfork High School; Megan Hiles, Calico Rock High School; Shala Lawrence, Bakersfield High School and Destiny White, Viola High School. Receiving $1,000 scholarships to attend†Ozarka College are: Mesa Barger, Melbourne High School; Abigail Brindley, Mammoth Spring High School; Abby Greer, Salem High School and Marly Jines, Highland High School. Receiving $1,000 scholarships to attend the university of their choosing are: Jared Alexander, Mammoth Spring High School; Sydney Brown, Calico Rock High School; Ragan Burris, Highland High School; Lenise Byrd, Izard County Consolidated High School; Alexa Darracq, Mountain Home High School; Caleb Davis, Calico Rock High School; Luke Foreman, Mountain Home High School; Hope Menendez, Mountain Home High School; Katelynn Miller, Highland High School; Elizabeth Pounds, Cave City High School; Allison Shands, Cave City High School and Sydnie Zimmer, Mountain Home High School.

Members who participate in the Operation Roundup were thanked by Coleman, who said $20,000 was awarded in scholarships this year.

NAEC attorney Roger Morgan, announced 1,776 members registered for the event. The main order of business for Morgan was to elect two members (six-year terms); one for Baxter County and one for Fulton County. The nominating committee nominated Beth Carter for Baxter and Mark Montgomery for Fulton. A nomination was made from the floor by Steve Hall, who nominated himself for the Fulton County position.

Montgomery and Hall were given two minutes each to speak to the members. Following their time on stage, members were given instructions on how to vote by ballot, passed out by NAEC employees. It was announced on Friday, June 8, Steve Hall won the election and will represent Fulton County on NAECís Board of Directors.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: