County Commission establishes election boundaries

Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of the Farm Service Agency. They help deliver FSA farm programs at the local level. Farmers who serve on committees help decide the kind of programs their counties will offer. They work to make FSA agricultural programs serve the needs of local producers.

Farmers and ranchers who are elected to serve on FSA county committees apply using their judgment and knowledge to help with the decisions necessary to administer FSA programs in their counties, ensuring the needs of local producers are met. FSA county committees operate within official federal regulations and provide local input on:

Payments, including setting county average yields for commodities

Conservation programs

Incentive, indemnity, and disaster payments for some commodities

Emergency programs

Payment eligibility.

The current COC Members are: LAA 1- James Newman, LAA 2- Michael Barnett, LAA 3- Kevin Morris, LAA 4- Barry Farris and LAA 5- Julie Johnson. (LAA, local administrative area)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: